top of page

Sketching vs Photography

Ok, this is similar to the previous blog I posted. Mindfulness vs Photography.

Although this time I can say this is like:

Photography + Mindfulness = Sketching.

I know not everyone can draw, or paint. I can't. For me its not quality but the purpose. When I take a picture of an object. The image is captured by the camera. What I did to do this is maybe adjust the aperture. Set the shutter speed, then pick and set focus. Lastly press the shutter button. Viola, the image is preserved. Although none of the image is in my mind.

So here comes the sketching. In drawing you really have to go through most parts of what your capturing. If its a building, you'd count the number of floors and windows. If its a face, you'd see the hair, nose, ears, eyes and mouth. I know because those things I drew have more of the details I remember than those images I took. I had to view the picture thru the computer or find the print just to remember.

I love tangible things. Specially prints on paper, Polaroid prints and now drawings on paper. Its just another medium to help me absorb more of a moment rather than use another electronic appliance to do the work for me.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page